A dull, grey day with a chill in the air, actually it was a cold dull week with a chill in the air, and loads of work to do. So me and my boyfriend decided a meal out would be more appealing than staying in and cooking again.
We decided to go ASK, the contemporary, Italian restaurant located on the second floor of the Gate, Newcastle.
It was about 5.30 pm when we were welcomed by the smiley waitress at the wide, open entrance and led to a stylish table in the corner, and given a few minutes to decide what drink we want. Which was great, I like having a few minutes to decide what drink I want with my meal.
After a short while I decided to go for an Appletiser, and my boyfriend, a Coke.
Next, we looked the menu up and down for while before deciding to go for the ‘2 meals for £10.95’ deal. I opted for Bruschetta Classica to start and Rigatoni De Manzo Piccante(Baked rigatoni pasta with savoury ragù, beef meatballs, green chillies, fire-roasted red peppers, white wine and caramelised onions. Topped with mozzarella and Grana Padano cheese and served with a side salad) for main.
After ordering our food by the friendly waitress, I had a chance to admire the perfectly symmetrical decor. Everything from the ceiling, to the tables and the bar was rectangular or square, and bright too.
The star of the show was the open kitchen, where you could see the chef at work, which is always exciting.
Soon after our starters came, we ordered the same rustic garlic bread, buried in chunks of tomato and barely any red onion and too much parsley, needless to say, I was disappointed with my brushetta. A touch of balsamic and little less tomato would have definitely improved it, but at least I had one of my five a day in tomatoes alone.
The main was a lot different, it was great in fact. A black dish full of pasta, meatballs and tons of flavour served on a wooden board and a small side salad in a separate bowl.
The pasta was perfectly cooked, the sauce was delicious with a hint of spice and a touch of cheese, and the meatballs melted in my mouth.
The meal ended with a friendly chat from the waitress, a full belly and a cheap bill, so overall we left happy and satisfied.

MY TASTY MAIN MEAL:

To find a ASK near you visit:http://www.askitalian.co.uk/#!/
If you have been to ASK yourself feel free to comment below, I would love to know your thoughts!

