Wow, I can’t believe it is February already! I have been so busy, I’ve barely had time to blog! Luckily I have been able to keep up the cooking, especially slow cooking. It has always been a favourite of mine, but I’ve been slow cooking a lot more, especially this past week. It does mean I am eating at 9pm, but it has been worth it.

I have also been keeping my promise to bake something every week. Amongst an olive and garlic foccia, corned beef pie and scones sprouted a truly amazing pecan pie.

I found the recipe in my Great British Bake Off cookbook, which is full to the brim of delicious looking things I want to make. This recipe seemed fairly easy, and didn’t need a list of ingredients as long as my arm. So I want to share this recipe with you, as I just cannot!

pecan1

pecan

Ingredients for the pastry:

  • 200g of plain flour
  • A good pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp of caster sugar
  • 120g of unsalted butter, chilled and diced
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of icy water (I found I need a little more)

This recipe is pretty simple as it can be all put in the food processor and blitzed up. Put the flour, salt and sugar in first and pulse it a few times to mix it all up then add the butter and process until the texture is like breadcrumbs. Then add the egg yolk and water and blitz until it all comes together, adding more water if it is dry. Make a ball then wrap in cling film and chill for 15 minutes in the fridge.

Next you need to blind bake the pastry case. To do this first pre-heat your oven to 190 degrees and grease your pie tin (about 23cm deep). Place the pastry in the tin, then cover with grease-proof paper. A good tip is to crumple the paper first, it makes it easier to cover the pastry. Then fill with baking beans (rice works just as well) and bake for 12-15 minutes. Then remove the paper and beans and bake for a further five minutes.

Once it is done, remove and turn your oven down to 180 degrees and make your yummy filling.

Ingredients for the filling:

  • 100g of unsalted butter, diced
  • 125g of muscovado sugar
  • 85g of maple syrup
  • 85g of golden syrup
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 300g of pecans (this is the books recommendation, I used half this amount and found it perfect, if you like it very nutty add this amount)

So for the filling put the butter, sugar, maple syrup and golden syrup in a large pan and melt gently over a low heat, giving it an occasional stir. Then bring the mixture to the boil, and don’t stop stirring, let it continue to boil for a minute, you will feel it get thicker. Then remove it from the heat and leave to one side to cool down till it is warm. This can take a while, as you have just boiled sugar! Next, beat the vanilla into the eggs then add this to the mixture. Save a few pecans for decoration, and roughly chop the rest, also add this to the mixture and give it a good stir before pouring it into the case.

Bake this for 30-35 minutes until the filling is firm. Don’t worry if it looks quite dark in colour, this is normal, and in my opinion a lot more flavoursome. Let it cool completely and tuck in!

pecan2

