Last Thursday night I went to, despite being full of cold, the amazing Urban Night Feast. Which is a three night festival bringing some of the best street vendors and chefs in the North East together under one roof, so the foodies of the region can try some of the amazing food they offer.

There were curries, fish and beer amongst the mixture of different foods to try.

My partner tried some fresh winkles from Latimer Seafood and we both sampled some of the perfectly cooked pulled pork on a pile of nachos with a garlic and chilli sauce from El Kantina.

The thing that really surprised me though was the Scotch eggs from The Broad Chare. Put off by the bright orange, supermarket Scotch eggs I wasn’t too excited about trying them, but from first glance I knew these were different, I knew they would taste great.

The yolk was still a tiny bit runny and had a gorgeous coloured yolk, the sausage meat looked so fresh and the non-garish orange crust around the edge looked perfect.

It tasted so wonderful, the meat was slightly spicy and rich, the egg was perfect and the crispy crust topped it all off.

scotcheg

 

So, from there I decided I would try and create my own Scotch egg. I baked mine as I don’t have a deep fat fryer (and to cut down on the fat). I also gave mine a spring onion crust.

Ingredients (to make two)

  • 2 eggs
  • 4 sausages (or sausage meat)
  • Dried oregano
  • 2 spring onions, very finely chopped
  • 1 egg for whisking
  • A pile of breadcrumbs (I didn’t measure, just use your eye, you can add more easily)
  • A pile of seasoned flour
  • Oil

So what I did was first boil the eggs. I put them in a pan of cold water and brought them up to the boil, then let simmer for five minutes. Whilst this was happening I put the seasoned flour, breadcrumbs (with the finely chopped spring onion) and beaten eggs in three different bowls. I then took the sausage out of their skins, mixed them with dried oregano then floured my surface and my hands (do this, you don’t want sticky sausage hands!) and rolled them out and placed on to cling film. (Using cling film makes wrapping the egg easier).

Once the eggs had boiled for five minutes I put them in cold water, let them cool for a few minutes, then peeled them. Then I dipped the egg into the flour, and wrapped the sausage meat around the egg. Then dipped the sausage ball, yes try form a ball rather than the egg shape, into the flour, then the egg and finely the breadcrumbs.

Put a little oil on your baking tray and over the Scotch egg and bake for 20-30 minutes.

You won’t get a runny egg with this recipe, sorry, because it is baked. If you want runny egg then deep fry.

 

A4XCZdNCAAAtcRj

 

Mine weren’t as good as The Broad Chare’s little beauties, but I wasn’t expecting them to be. I am just happy they turned out the way they did, and tasted lovely!

More information about the Urban Night Feast can be found here: http://www.urbannightfeast.co.uk/

